Undark magazine wins George Polk Award for environmental reporting

in mere its third year of existence, Undark magazine, a digital publication of the Knight Science Journalism Fellowship plan at MIT (KSJ), is granted a prestigious George Polk Award. The prize, announced on National Press Club in Washington on Feb. 19, respected the task of two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist Larry C. cost and contributing Undark reporters for a seven-part show on worldwide polluting of the environment, posted between August and December 2018, called “Breathtaking.” 

Conceived and orchestrated by Undark’s editorial group and supported partly because of the Pulitzer focus on Crisis Reporting, the Breathtaking project visited seven nations on five continents to document — in text, drone footage, nonetheless photography, and innovative 360-degree movie — the effects of fine particulate smog, also called PM2.5. Such pollution claims above 4 million life yearly.

“it is a topic that impacts virtually every person to some extent, but it is much too frequently ignored,” said Undark’s editor-in-chief, Tom Zeller Jr., a former ny instances staff author and editor and a 2013-’14 MIT study fellow with KSJ. “We’re pleased that Polk committee has acknowledged Larry’s work and that of our entire team — and hopefully that award brings even more awareness to the pressing problem.”

The George Polk Awards, established in 1949 in memory of CBS correspondent George Polk, who had been murdered while within the Greek Civil War, are conferred annually by ny’s Long Island University. They truly are regarded as being among the most prestigious in journalism.

As well as Price and Undark, the Polk committee granted rewards in 16 groups for journalistic work done in 2018 by The New York occasions, The Washington article, This new Yorker, and ProPublica, among various other outlets. Significantly more than 550 entries were considered — a record year, based on the prize’s organizers. Earlier winners include Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein, Walter Cronkite, Edward R. Murrow, Christiane Amanpour, Norman Mailer, and Diane Sawyer.

“couple of years have been because fruitful as this one,” ny instances reporter John Darnton, today the curator of Polk Awards, stated in a statement associated the honor announcements. “These winners reveal the most readily useful of our reporters continue to be resilient, courageous, dedicated, and undeterred by attacks on their ability and stability.”